The Vine Awards for Canadian Jewish Literature recognize ebooks, graphic novels, digital storytelling and a variety of media in five categories:

  • Fiction
  • Non-Fiction
  • Poetry
  • Children’s/Young Adult Literature
  • History

Submission deadline: June 3, 2016
Download the Submission Requirements and Entry Form here (PDF)


  1. Writer must be Canadian (permanent resident or citizen) OR the submission must have significant Canadian content.
  2. Writer must be Jewish OR the submission must have significant Jewish content
  3. Submission must have been released to the public in the previous calendar year (*in the case of the 2016 awards, submissions released in 2014 and 2015 will be considered because of the year-long hiatus the awards have been on)
  4. Submissions must be easily available/accessible to the public–i.e. be available for purchase or download in retail or ecommerce outlets.
  5. Previously submitted work, new translations and reissues are not eligible
  6. Posthumous submissions will not be accepted–all artists/authors must be alive at the time of submissions
  7. All submissions must be in English or French language or be eligible, either originally or in translation (in the case of translation, all other eligibility criteria apply to original author and not translator)

Entry Guidelines

  1. Five (5) hard copies of each submission must be mailed or couriered to:

    Koffler Centre of the Arts
    180 Shaw Street, Suite 104-105
    Toronto, ON, M6J2W5

    *please do not personally deliver submissions to the Koffler Centre of the Arts office*

  2. Completed entry form
  3. $40 entry fee per title submitted (visa, mastercard, cash and cheques are accepted. Cheques can be made out to the Koffler Centre of the Arts) *Please note for books being sent form outside of Canada that the Koffler is not responsible for the cost of shipping, customs or duty. Should a package arrive with customs or duty owing, it will be declined and returned to sender. Please ensure that all fees are pre-paid upon sending.
  4. Books will be considered in one category only–please consider carefully the category in which your submission belongs.
  5. Submissions for the 2014/15 Vine Awards must be in by June 3, 2016. Late submissions will not be returned or considered.

Categories and Prizes

A prize of $10,000 will be awarded authors in the following categories:

  1. Fiction: A novel, short-story collection, short story or graphic novel of exemplary literary merit that is fictional.
  2. Non-Fiction: Biography, memoir, autobiography, graphic novel, short story, collection of short stories, or other prose writing that is based on facts, real events, and real people.
  3. Poetry: A collection or single piece of writing composed in verse.
  4. Young Adult/Children’s Literature: Poetry or prose composed for readers under 16.
  5. History: A fiction or non-fiction work about a historical experience.

Submission deadline: June 3, 2016